Album Review XVARHNAH Crown

Xvarhnah cover art

XVARHNAH “Crown”

Depressive Illusions Records

This duo female-man based in Italy released a good Ep forged in Atmospheric Doom metal. Of course, these musicians has a lot of influences from European doom metal bands in 90’s, but It called my attention because they also added high octane influences from progressive rock and some complex sections, that will close your mouth immediately.

It seems like both of them have musical high skills, and we are talking about people with certain experience in business. Mmm… everybody knows how I hate when bands use guttural vocals mixed with soprano voices. Maybe it’s the fact that I do relation it with big names on mainstream market. Also, I’m not a big fan of long tracks. Five minutes of slow metal are enough for me. This time is quite different because I enjoyed three good songs in the vein of old glories of The Gathering, early Theatre of Tragedy, The 3rd and the Mortal,etc, which is a good reference to describe them. Maybe I’m not totally satisfied with soprano voices, actually, Cristina Hagalaz did a very good job in both vocals mode, but I have to listen something more extraordinaire, to rise thumbs, if you know what I mean. Anyway, this is a good beginning for the duo and I’m sure some of you will be interested. – Victor Varas

facebook.com/xvarhnah

depressiveillusions.com

Leave a Reply

